Need icons for filetypes? Hotlink from stdicon.com

August 28, 2009

This is about ten days old, but still worth mentioning. I was working on PostBin trying to support file uploads. I realized I really wanted to have icons for the files to help differentiate them from other POST params and make it feel more polished. Of course, this would mean I’d have to find icons for the popular file/mime types … and if I were going to do that, I might as well build a service … but I didn’t want to build a service.

I turned to Twitter. In that past, I’d mentioned wanting something and somebody actually built it (using my tools no less). I figured this was a bit more work than last time, but it couldn’t be that much more. So I gave it a shot and tweeted it. Next thing I know, Paul Tarjan is on it. Some hours later: stdicon.com

I’m credited at the bottom, but really, I just had the idea and came up with the domain. Paul wrote all the code and even collected all the icons (and manually uploaded them to the app). We discussed implementation details over IM, but that was it. Pretty rad!

The idea is that given a file extension (“txt”, “gif”, etc) or a mimetype (“text/plain”, “application/zip”, etc) you can get a resizable icon by putting together a simple URL, like http://www.stdicon.com/mp3?size=16 or from a particular icon set http://www.stdicon.com/neu/html?size=64. Here are some examples from various sets:

Nuvola set: text/plain jpg application/pdf mp3
Apache set: text/plain jpg application/pdf mp3
Crystal set: text/plain jpg application/pdf mp3

And that’s it! Paul wrote a post about it. Somebody requested a simple API for just doing the mimetype to file extension conversion, so Paul added it. Strangely, the same day, MIME API was released. That’s fine. Just means stdicon can focus on icons.

Anyway, I pulled this same stunt just the other day, using Twitter to get more cool infrastructure built, but I’ll have to write about it later.

23 Responses to “Need icons for filetypes? Hotlink from stdicon.com”


  1. […] 9, 2009 In my post about stdicon.com, I hinted at something else I built in collaboration with a few people starting from a Twitter […]

  2. Dan Grossman Says:

    I wouldn’t hotlink the site’s images; that’s wasteful of their CPU and bandwidth, and means your site is full of dead images if stdicon.com is down (temporarily, or some day, permanently).

    A better idea might be to write a couple lines of code to download the appropriate icon from stdicon, and once it’s done that once per file type and size combination, cache the image on your own server for future use.

    • Jeff Lindsay Says:

      It’s a community service, so the whole point is to waste the CPU and bandwidth. It’s running on App Engine.

      Think of it like Gravatar. The whole point is to hotlink. Your avatar image there is hotlinked in this way. Caching is fine, perhaps even a Good Idea, but it’s generally more effort than it’s worth.

  3. Michael Says:

    FWIW, from a rendering performance perspective, the images should all be combined into a sprite and that single image cached on the server.


  4. This is basically tennis shoes are meant to offer pinnacle balance to the guitarist.
    Many of the local lure shops will market place sportfishing certificates.

    Help sure your thought if focused after the content you desire to recall.
    Loud and hitting appeared their preferred epidermis punishment.

    http://www.kaneko-kougyo.co.jp/cgi-bin/more_cgi/askabbs/aska.
    cgi

  5. air max 1 Says:

    Much more head this winter is the peep-toe chaussure tn runner.

    A functional huge selection of Canadians go of Detroit as beautifully as other U.

    Exercise Nike air max any system – exercising the longer.
    Here in the event then you like what Jamaica has to provide, you will pray to examine Superclubs.
    http://www.tvsinos.com.br/tvonline/userinfo.php?

    uid=5630


  6. 彼女の人生の物語の彼女の
    アカウントに基づいて
    、彼女の母親は、ガブリエ
    ルがを出産した救貧院で
    採用された、とガ
    ブリエルがやっと6歳の時
    、彼は速やか
    に親族の後見に捨てられた
    人5子孫と彼女
    の父を残して、
    死んだ

  7. Replica Watches Says:

    At this time it appears like BlogEngine is the top blogging platform
    available right now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you’re using on
    your blog?


  8. Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the pictures on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to figure out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the
    blog. Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.


  9. If some one needs to be updated with most recent technologies then
    he must be pay a quick visit this web site and be up to date daily.


  10. I just like the helpful information you provide for your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and check again here regularly.
    I’m moderately sure I will be informed many new stuff proper right here! Good luck for the next!


  11. I every time used to study article in news papers but now as I am a user of internet so from now I am
    using net for articles, thanks to web.


  12. I’m not sure where you are getting your information, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for wonderful info I was looking for this info for my mission.


  13. What’s up, just wanted to say, I loved this article. It was funny. Keep on posting!


  14. This article is genuinely a fastidious one it helps new
    net viewers, who are wishing in favor of blogging.


  15. Good day! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which blog
    platform are you using for this site? I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.


  16. Greetings! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My site looks weird when viewing from my iphone 4. I’m
    trying to find a template or plugin that might be able
    to resolve this problem. If you have any recommendations, please share.

    Appreciate it!


  17. This excellent website definitely has all of the information and facts I
    wanted about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  18. Merle Says:

    And also to put the cherry around the cake, it doest not holds any unwanted effects. Nevertheless, you could be unhappy that it cruises managing Android 2.3 (Gingerbread). The key system used is named an extender.

  19. Freya Says:

    This shift push the muscles of the upper back against each other and must develop the torso absolutely. Then you can finally wear these muscle shirts in public. MaxMedix is light in weight and heavy in delivery.

  20. Makayla Says:

    It’s noot myy first time to pay a visit this web site, i am visiting this site daklly and take fastidious
    information from hwre daily.

  21. sex nung lon Says:

    It’s very simple to find out any topic on net as compared
    to textbooks, as I found this piece of writing at this site.


Leave a Reply

